Serena William Gets Seeded No. 8 at Wimbledon

Serena William at WimbledonSerena Williams, defending champion was seeded No. 8 for Wimbledon on Wednesday and will avoid playing the longest-ranked players until at least the quarterfinals.

13th Grand Slam title was won by Serena Williams at the All England Clud, but after that walked on broken glass, finally leading to blood clots on her lungs.  She was out of action for closely a year prior to going back to competitive tennis on Tuesday at Eastbourne.  William rallied from a put down to strike Tsvetana Pironkova 1-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Wimbledon begins Monday.  The draw is scheduled for Friday.

From her injury, Williams had gone down to No. 26 in the WTA rankings.  If Wimbledon organizers had seed her according to her position, Williams can have arise against a top player in the third round.

Venus, her sister, a five-time Wimbledon champion, was seeded No. 24.  She had gone down to 33rd in the rankings from missing most of this season with a hip injury.  She as well went back to action this week in Eastbourne.

Wimbledon organizers said, “The seeding order follows the WTA ranking list, except where in the opinion of the committee, a change is necessary to produce a balanced draw. The only changes this year are Serena Williams and Venus Williams moving to 8 and 24, respectively.

This reflects the balance between their proven records and also their lack of competitive play in the past 12 months.”

Caroline Wozniacki was at the top ranked of the seeding record.  The no. 2 was Kim Clijsters, an Australian Open Champion, 3rdwas Vera Zvonareva and the no. 4 was the French Open champion Li Na.

Maria Sharapova, one more winner in 2004 was seeded No. 6 one after Victoria Azarenka.

Rafael Nadal, defending champion was seeded No. 1, next by Novak Djokovic then Roger Federer at No. 3 and No. 4 was Andy Murray.  Federer and Nadal have joined for the previous eight titles at the all England Club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge